The Four Irish Nobel Literary Laureates. Signed by Seamus Heaney (2012)

Author: Roger Kohn

Book ID: 64390

Price: 150.00

The Four Irish Nobel Literary Laureates: Yeats, Shaw, Beckett, and Heaney. A Series of Sculptures by Rowan Gillespie. Boston College. John J. Burns Library, 2012. Pp 20. Folio, pictorial wrappers, profusely illustrated. A fine copy.

Signed by Seamus Heaney on upper cover.

Booklet on the commemorative cast bronze sculptures by internationally noted Irish sculptor Rowan Gillespie. The piece was commissioned and donated by former BC Trustee and Burns Library benefactor Brian P. Burns for installation at Boston College Ireland.

Rowan Gillespie met Heaney at an exhibition opening in Dublin and asked if he would be prepared to sit for the bust. In Rowan’s words, Seamus was ‘sweet and charming as usual,’ and Gillespie created the bust forthwith. On seeing Gillespie’s completed work, Brian Burns decided that a broader commission should include each of the other three Irish Nobel Laureates – William Butler Yeats, George Bernard Shaw and Samuel Beckett. He convinced Gillespie, who created busts of the three, and the result was formally unveiled in November, 2012.

In stock

SKU: 64390 Categories: , ,