The Crock of Gold. First Edition (1912)

Author: James Stephens

Book ID: 68204

Price: 195.00

The Crock of Gold. London: Macmillan, 1912. First Edition. Pp, 312. Green cloth boards, lettered in gilt. Light shelf-wear to boards, contents in nice bright condition.

First printing of Stephen’s mixture of philosophy, Irish folklore and the ‘battle of the sexes,’ with charm, humour and good grace.

It consists of six books, Book 1: The Coming of Pan, Book 2: The Philosopher’s Journey, Book 3: The Two Gods, Book 4: The Philosopher’s Return, Book 5 : The Policemen & Book 6: The Thin Woman’s Journey.

All rotate around the astonishing story of what happens when Pan shows up in Ireland, what Angus Og does about it, and what becomes of the Daughter of Murrachu who gets caught in between them. A mad-cap quest ensues as fairies, leprechauns and a philosopher being hunted by the police all get involved in the antics of the two gods.

In stock

SKU: 68204 Categories: ,