Cuala Press Publications. A Collection of 77 Facsimile & 4 Original Editions (1971)

Author: W.B. Yeats [Et Al]

Book ID: 59007

Price: 1,250.00

A collection of 82 Volumes comprising of 78 facsimile editions and four original editions (‘Elbow Room’ by Oliver St. Gogarty; ‘Veterans and other Poems’ by Thomas Macdonough; ‘Seven Winters’ by Elizabeth Bowen; ‘Selected Poems’ by Dafydd AP. Gwilym are the original Cuala Press publications, 1939, 1941, 1942 & 1944 respectively) all others are Facsimile Editions published by the Irish University Press, 1971. 3 volumes, 4to. and 78 volumes 8vo. All bound in cloth-backed boards in glassine dust jackets (most with titles printed on spines), ‘On The Boiler’ and ‘Poems Written in Discouragement, 1912-1913’ bound in printed wrappers. Other than ‘Seven Winters’ whose covers are worn, all 80 items in very good to fine condition. The three case bound quartos, Lament for Art O’Leary, Broadsides 1935 and Broadsides 1937, all with coloured illustrations.

Also included is the original detailed prospectus from the Shannon Press issued in 1970 offering the complete set of 82 items at £396.

While the fastidious collector may avoid these reprints, they are nevertheless excellent examples for any reference library. In addition to the complete set of the works published and sold by the Press, from its beginnings in 1903 to its becoming dormant in the mid-1940s, this set includes ‘Poems Written in Discouragement,’ ‘The Hour Glass and Mosada,’ all by W.B. Yeats, together with ‘Wild Apples ‘by Oliver St. John Gogarty (1928 issue). These were privately printed at the Press, rather than for sale, and original copies of all are very scarce.

In stock

SKU: 59007 Categories: , , Tag: